MacMusic.org  |  PcMusic.org  |  440Software  |  440Forums.com  |  440Tv  |  Zicos.com  |  AudioLexic.org
Loading... visiteurs connectés
Bienvenue invité

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Garageband Questions, four stupid questions from a Newbie
posté ven. 29 avril 2005, 22:49
Message #1

Groupe :
Inscrit : --
Membre no 0

Four GarageBand questions for you all. I am a newbie to digital recording generally, so perhaps these are not just GB questions. They might be digital recording questions. I thank you all in advance for helping.

1) I am using a Mackie Onyx board as a front end for real instruments and voice. No matter what I do, the levels seem too low, but then suddenly, when I turn the Mackie input levels up, I am clipping in GB.

By the levels seeming too low, I mean that the little squiggles that appear on the screen as I play acoustic guitar and sing seem small in relation to the space allotted and in relation to other pieces of music, some midi, some AIFF recordings of my band, that I have imported into GB and messed around with. Also seems smaller in relation to other applications I have seen (tho' GB is my first attempt to actually use one myself). Of course, the band has 6 people in it, so I guess it is logical that my solo recording squiggles would be smaller that the imported band squiggles. Nonetheless, the recordings I am making appear to be squiggling so small that I fear I have a problem.

BTW, a friend of mine, who should know, agrees that the inputs look low. (He's a long time professional soundman (and musician, but mostly soundman -- hey, they always work) who has since turned himself into a Embedded Systems Designer. He's one of those hardcore guys -- way back when, he turned in his Arp Odyssey and bought an Apple I.