MacMusic.org  |  PcMusic.org  |  440Software  |  440Forums.com  |  440Tv  |  Zicos.com  |  AudioLexic.org
Loading... visiteurs connectés

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Recording questions, mainly about cables.
posté mar. 5 juin 2001, 04:57
Message #1

Groupe :
Inscrit : --
Membre no 0

Hi,
I'm a young musician, and looking to start recording some of my music, I do mainly vocals and electric Guitar. I'd be recording on a G4 400 mhz, 128 ram.
Anyway, I've been searching around and am wondering what sort of equipment I'd need to record to the sound card my computer came with until I can afford something more expensive, looking into soundblaster live.
What sort of mics should I get, and how do I hook them up to my computer, I assume the mics would have Midi cables on them, and those won't plug into my audio in slot obviously. Are their midi-to-normal audio in adapters availible? Can I hook up more than one mic to my audio In?

Any help would be great,
Everett
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
abbie
posté mar. 5 juin 2001, 16:56
Message #2

Groupe : Members
Inscrit : 01 mars 01
Lieu : Orleans - CA
Membre no 322

Assuming your mac has audio in/outputs, you will need a mixer - not a fancy one but preferably one that will allow you to monitor your recording without looping it back to the computer (you can typically do this with the auxiliary in/out while plugging your recording source into the mixer's standard inputs). If you aren't recording in stereo, you can plug your guitar into one channel and use another channel for monitoring. All this to say, that a 4 channel mixer with an effects (auxiliary) send should do.