MacMusic.org  |  PcMusic.org  |  440Software  |  440Forums.com  |  440Tv  |  Zicos.com  |  AudioLexic.org
Loading... visiteurs connectés
Bienvenue invité
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> 3gb Ram On Macbook Intel Core 2 Duo?
musico2007
posté lun. 6 oct. 2008, 03:25
Message #1


Newbie


Groupe : Members
Messages : 17
Inscrit : 09 avril 07
Membre no 90,147




can i put 3 gb of ram on my macbook it only has the stock 1 gb rite now but i'm wondering if i can just get 2gb and put it in the other slot? according to my macbook one of the slots is empty...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim Hoyland
posté lun. 6 oct. 2008, 07:27
Message #2


Junior Member
***

Groupe : Members
Messages : 122
Inscrit : 16 juil. 06
Lieu : London - UK
Membre no 81,499




You need to check your exact specs here:

http://support.apple.com/specs/#macbook

but depending on your model, you can either put 2 or 4Gb in your machine.


--------------------
www.myspace.com/commercialmusicstudios
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
houstonmusic
posté lun. 6 oct. 2008, 16:38
Message #3


Senior Member
****

Groupe : Members
Messages : 246
Inscrit : 06 févr. 07
Lieu : Berkeley - US
Membre no 88,124




yes,
to bottom line it more, i believe in these machines the ram chips must be installed in matched pairs.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lepetitmartien
posté lun. 6 oct. 2008, 17:06
Message #4


Moderator In Chief (MIC)
Icône de groupe

Groupe : Editors
Messages : 15,189
Inscrit : 23 déc. 01
Lieu : Paris - FR
Membre no 2,758




as a proud owner of a MB core2duo…

…with 4 GB installed…

…with 3 GB recognized…

on a MB core2duo you can install :

- unmatched chips
- matched chips (then you benefit from interleaved memory, a slight boost)
- on all models have 4 GB installed, but on in the latest have them recognized as 4 GB, else you will have 3 GB at most (hardware limit), but the 4 recognized 3 work just fine (as I do)

for core duo owners, it's 2 GB, end of line.

See you specs here


--------------------
Our Classifeds • Nos petites annonces • Terms Of Service / Conditions d'Utilisation • Forum Rules / Règles des Forums • MacMusic.Org & SETI@Home
BOING BUMM TSCHAK PENG! Are you musician enough to write in our Wiki?
BOING BUMM TSCHAK ZZZZZZZZZZZOING! Êtes-vous assez musicien pour écrire dans le Wiki?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
musico2007
posté mar. 7 oct. 2008, 14:13
Message #5


Newbie


Groupe : Members
Messages : 17
Inscrit : 09 avril 07
Membre no 90,147




r u saying that if i install 4GB it's only going to recognize 3GB? btw this is my computerand i'm looking to get the RAM for OWC(Other World Computing) or Samsung, are these reliable brands?

Ce message a été modifié par musico2007 - mar. 7 oct. 2008, 14:42.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
LPR4VI
posté mar. 7 oct. 2008, 15:40
Message #6


Newbie


Groupe : Members
Messages : 14
Inscrit : 23 mars 07
Lieu : Bayside - US
Membre no 89,659




QUOTE (musico2007 @ Tue 7 Oct 2008, 15:13) *
r u saying that if i install 4GB it's only going to recognize 3GB? btw this is my computerand i'm looking to get the RAM for OWC(Other World Computing) or Samsung, are these reliable brands?



I have a MacBook Pro Intel Core Duo and it recognizes the 4GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM. I got the Ram from Other World Computing and it's real slick! Hope this helps.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lepetitmartien
posté mar. 7 oct. 2008, 17:27
Message #7


Moderator In Chief (MIC)
Icône de groupe

Groupe : Editors
Messages : 15,189
Inscrit : 23 déc. 01
Lieu : Paris - FR
Membre no 2,758




Citation (musico2007 @ Tue 7 Oct 2008, 15:13) *
r u saying that if i install 4GB it's only going to recognize 3GB? btw this is my computerand i'm looking to get the RAM for OWC(Other World Computing) or Samsung, are these reliable brands?
This macbook recognizes fully 4 GB.

Real Samsung is fine (as dane elec, MDT, gskill for example), OWC being a respectable mac centered dealer is fine too, in fact, I have OWC chips in my macbook wink.gif
Citation (LPR4VI @ Tue 7 Oct 2008, 16:40) *
I have a MacBook Pro Intel Core Duo and it recognizes the 4GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM. I got the Ram from Other World Computing and it's real slick! Hope this helps.
Don't mix macbook and macbook pro, they were not created equal, and the MBP recognized 4 GB from day one. It's a motherboard limitation on MB core duo max 2 GB, and same for MB core2duo 3 GB . In fact the left over 4th GB on early MB core2duo is so because it uses the same memory addresses as other ports on the motherboard like USB, SATA… there's nothing that can be done.


--------------------
Our Classifeds • Nos petites annonces • Terms Of Service / Conditions d'Utilisation • Forum Rules / Règles des Forums • MacMusic.Org & SETI@Home
BOING BUMM TSCHAK PENG! Are you musician enough to write in our Wiki?
BOING BUMM TSCHAK ZZZZZZZZZZZOING! Êtes-vous assez musicien pour écrire dans le Wiki?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lancet
posté mar. 14 oct. 2008, 15:58
Message #8


Junior Member
***

Groupe : Members
Messages : 142
Inscrit : 07 juil. 04
Lieu : - US
Membre no 46,480




QUOTE (lepetitmartien @ Mon 6 Oct 2008, 11:06) *
- matched chips (then you benefit from interleaved memory, a slight boost)



The biggest difference would be in video performance since the MB's use Intel integrated video that takes system RAM for video use.

The specific system in question uses an Intel GMA X3100 integrated "graphics processor with 144 MB of DDR2 SDRAM shared with main memory"

the general recommendation would be to use matched pairs for better video performance.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lepetitmartien
posté mer. 15 oct. 2008, 17:30
Message #9


Moderator In Chief (MIC)
Icône de groupe

Groupe : Editors
Messages : 15,189
Inscrit : 23 déc. 01
Lieu : Paris - FR
Membre no 2,758




Note that on "3 GB" MB, the first few days with 4 GB in, you can have slight video bugs, but it disappears.


--------------------
Our Classifeds • Nos petites annonces • Terms Of Service / Conditions d'Utilisation • Forum Rules / Règles des Forums • MacMusic.Org & SETI@Home
BOING BUMM TSCHAK PENG! Are you musician enough to write in our Wiki?
BOING BUMM TSCHAK ZZZZZZZZZZZOING! Êtes-vous assez musicien pour écrire dans le Wiki?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 utilisateur(s) sur ce sujet (1 invité(s) et 0 utilisateur(s) anonyme(s))
0 membre(s) :

 

Version bas débit - samedi 24 août 2019, 14:15
- © MacMusic 1997-2008