MacMusic.org  |  PcMusic.org  |  440Software  |  440Forums.com  |  440Tv  |  Zicos.com  |  AudioLexic.org
Loading... visiteurs connectés
Bienvenue invité

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Ableton Live As Daw
mthomashow
posté dim. 31 août 2003, 12:59
Message #1

Groupe : Members
Inscrit : 15 août 03
Lieu : Dublin - US
Membre no 23,022

I'm an improvisationally oriented musician....I play synths (karma, S90, and Planet Earth), guitars (Parker fly Deluxe and Taylor Acoustic). I have a new Laptop G4 Mac 1GHZ.....I'm new to recording (been using Korg PXR4 as scratchpad), but an experienced musician. I've been dabbling with the Live demo and find it fascinating.

I'm lookling for a program that will enable me to capture my improvisational loops (on guitar or synth, or even vocal drones)...and then allow me to sing, play and record over them. It seems that LIVE is perfect for that. I'd also like a program that can let me do my singer-songwriter thing and just record some acoustic guitar and vocals. Then I'd like to burn all that to CD's, just for fun, no demoing or professional aspirations in mind.

My other option is to get going with Logic, Protools, or DP....from what I''ve read Logic is the best deal and most optimized for OSX, but I'm somewhat daunted by its complexity, fearing that I'll spend more time with the software than with the music....I have a busy professional life (not as a musician), and when I play in the evenings I want to focus on my musicianship. LIVE seems ideal in that you can just get going with it, plus you can learn about recording at the same time. I'm slightly concerned, too that without Midi recording LIVE will quickly eat up a ton of discspace.

From your experience, and what I've described will LIVE suit my needs as a DAW, or am I better off getting started with something like LOGIC......any help is greatly appreciated.....