MacMusic.org  |  PcMusic.org  |  440Software  |  440Forums.com  |  440Tv  |  Zicos.com  |  AudioLexic.org
Loading... visiteurs connectés
Bienvenue invité

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Firewire Cardbus On A Powerbook G4, Performance issues
kassotis
posté sam. 30 avril 2005, 13:21
Message #1

Groupe : Members
Inscrit : 24 nov. 04
Lieu : London - UK
Membre no 55,513

Hi,

I have an external firewire 400 hard drive and the rme fireface 800 audio unit.
I was thinking that it would be much better to use a cardbus on the pcmcia slot of the powerbook and not use the same firewire bus for both the audio unit and the drive.
However I'm not sure whether the powerbook makes full use of both at the same time or it somehow shares them. I guess something like irq sharing...
I'm not very good at that so any info will be great.
I'm also using USB 2 hard drive and some other usb 1 devices so virtually every port of the powerbook is used.
Will it change the performance if i seperate the 2 firewire devices or it will just create more sharing issues...?

thanks

Ion
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
lepetitmartien
posté sam. 30 avril 2005, 13:42
Message #2

Moderator In Chief (MIC)
Icône de groupe

Groupe : Editors
Inscrit : 23 déc. 01
Lieu : Paris - FR
Membre no 2,758

Go for the PCMCIA firewire card, it works.

Cards bring you at least one FW bus more (check the specs)

--------------------
Our Classifeds • Nos petites annoncesTerms Of Service / Conditions d'UtilisationForum Rules / Règles des ForumsMacMusic.Org & SETI@Home
BOING BUMM TSCHAK PENG! Are you musician enough to write in our Wiki?
BOING BUMM TSCHAK ZZZZZZZZZZZOING! Êtes-vous assez musicien pour écrire dans le Wiki?

+Quote Post
misterharrison
posté sam. 22 déc. 2007, 14:14
Message #3

Inscrit : 03 déc. 03
Lieu : London - UK
Membre no 30,210

I hope no one minds me resurrecting this topic, but I've searched on various forums and can't find the answers I need. sad.gif