MacMusic.org  |  PcMusic.org  |  440Software  |  440Forums.com  |  440Tv  |  Zicos.com  |  AudioLexic.org
Loading... visiteurs connectés
Bienvenue invité
2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Capturing To External Hdd - Fast Enough?
fiddler100
posté dim. 19 févr. 2006, 06:32
Message #1

Groupe : Members
Inscrit : 18 févr. 06
Membre no 77,076

Hi Folks

I still haven't quite made it into the Mac World but have nearly settled on the following setup:

- Intel iMac 20"
- 2GB RAM
- Vantec NexStar2 Firewire enclosure + 300GB HDD
- PreSonus Firebox audio interface w/ 2x XLR inputs
- Edirol MA-15D monitors

I intended to use the external firewire HDD as my primary audio capture disk as this would leave the iMac HDD free for OS/application read/writes. Since I've never used an external Firewire HDD before, I'm unsure if it will be fast enough to capture my audio. I'm pretty sure it will be but I thought it best to check. I've only ever used PCs in the past and have always used the HDDs installed in the machine rather than external disks.

In fact, now I come to think of it, the iMac HDD is SATA. The NexStar2 HDD enclosure I was looking at uses PATA HDDs. Do you think I'd be better capturing directly to the internal HDD in the iMac or using the external for capture?

Your comments on this (and my proposed setup) would be really appreciated.

Cheers,
Fiddler.

Ce message a été modifié par fiddler100 - dim. 19 févr. 2006, 06:46.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Wilko
posté dim. 19 févr. 2006, 06:49
Message #2

Inscrit : 19 févr. 06
Lieu : Calgary - CA
Membre no 77,080

Hello. I'm a recent newbie to the mac recording world as well. Switched over from PC to Mac for one simple reason. They just work. :)